Issue 002 · as of 29 Sep 2026Published 5 Oct 2026

0 of 15 enterprise AI mandates this week say who holds the budget. Meta names a Chief Enterprise Platform Officer. 10 of 15 records don't name a reporting line.

9 listings and 6 announced appointments for roles that own enterprise AI, across 13 companies. None states where the AI budget sits.

Job postings and announcements are not written to disclose org charts, so read this as what companies chose to publish, not how the roles are structured.

Our readThe read

This week the AI owner looks less like a strategist and more like a builder. Meta's new chief is to turn its AI stack “into products and services that companies can deploy”. Prosus wants “the leading AI Lab in Europe”. New York Life is hiring a “small, senior AI engineering team” to build its platform. Morrisons' new chief will “establish a central data science and AI function”. Builders need teams and money. Teams get written down; money doesn't, in any of the 15 records. A team without a stated budget is a headcount line, not a mandate. ERGO is the outlier worth watching: its new CAIO sits on the Management Board while staying CEO of ERGO NEXT. If you're weighing one of these seats, ask two things first: what the team ships in year one, and whose budget pays for it.

Subscribe

The weekly record of who companies hire to own enterprise AI.

One email a week, when email starts. Until then, you're on the list.

Subscribe to Enterprise AI Jobs

Not live yet. Sign-ups open when the list does; nothing typed here is sent.

We store the email you give us, plus company, role and the option you pick if you fill them in, to send the weekly email and to understand who reads it. It's held by our email provider, never sold or shared, and every email will carry an unsubscribe link. Privacy note

Everything in this issue reached the board on 29 Sep 2026. 7 of the 9 listings carry a posted date, from 17 Sep to 25 Sep 2026; the other 2 source pages print no date. The 6 appointments were announced from 22 Sep to 28 Sep 2026. 3 more appointments reached the board the same day but were announced in August: Insurify (12 Aug), MANTECH (10 Aug) and Synchrony (13 Aug). They predate this issue's window and are on the board only.

01

Number of the week

4 of 6

appointments this week carry a Chief AI Officer title: ERGO Group AG, Morrisons, Prosus and PwC UK. 2 of the 6 announcements call the seat newly created: ERGO's “the newly created role” and Morrisons' “this newly created role”.

Base: the 6 appointments announced 22 Sep to 28 Sep 2026. Title match is a fixed rule over the announced title (“Chief AI Officer” or “Chief Artificial Intelligence Officer”); “newly created” is quoted from the source.

02

Patterns

Counts from fixed rules over stated text (scripts/lib/editorial-rules.mjs, scripts/lib/buckets.mjs).

Our readGovernance titles outnumber build titles this week, 3 to 2; in issue 001, build led 11 to 8. One week of 9 listings is noise. If the ratio holds, companies are hiring people to make AI safe faster than people to make it ship.

03

One chart

Who does the AI owner report to?

10 of 15 records do not say. Of the 5 that do, one each names the CEO, the announcement's author, the Chief Audit & Risk Officer, a Chief AI or Chief Data & AI Officer and a Chief Data Officer.

CEOOther stated lineNot stated
Not stated, by record type
Listings7 of 9
Appointments3 of 6
  • Not stated10
  • The announcement’s author (“reporting directly to me”)1
  • Chief Audit & Risk Officer1
  • Chief AI or Chief Data & AI Officer1
  • Chief Data Officer1
  • CEO1

n = 15 records (9 listings, 6 appointments) · base: every record that reached the board on 29 Sep 2026, at Global 2000 companies, with appointments announced from 20 Sep 2026; listings posted 17 Sep to 25 Sep 2026 (2 undated); appointments announced 22 Sep to 28 Sep 2026 · not stated: listings 7 of 9 (78%), appointments 3 of 6 (50%) · caveat: a sourcing sweep, not a market sample; “stated” means the source text names a reporting line, and buckets are assigned by fixed rules from that verbatim text only · source: enterpriseaijobs.com/board

04

Read the mandate

Morrisons · Dr. Mohsen Ghasempour

Chief AI Officer

Newly created (stated): this newly created role · Announced 24 Sep 2026 · Announcement ↗ · Board record

“In this newly created role Mohsen will establish a central data science and AI function for Morrisons which will take overall responsibility for Data and AI strategy, with a focus on customer growth; empowering colleagues; operational efficiency; manufacturing excellence; and commercial excellence.”
What it states

The role is newly created. He “will report to Rami Baitiéh, Morrisons CEO” and will “take up his post on 1 October 2026”. The function he builds takes “overall responsibility for Data and AI strategy”. On the hire: “He joins from Kingfisher where he was Chief AI Officer, leading the team which built and scaled Kingfisher's AI function in its operations across Europe.” In his own words, the job starts with “building the team”.

What it leaves unstated

Budget ownership. The size of the team. Whether the remit covers pilots, production or both. How the new central function relates to Morrisons' existing technology and data teams.

What a peer should notice Inferred

This is the CEO-reporting CAIO shape with something Trinity Health's issue 001 role lacked: a function to build. The remit, “overall responsibility for Data and AI strategy”, also puts data, not just AI, under this seat, so expect existing data teams to move into it. What the announcement doesn't say is who pays. The question for the next retailer that hires a chief AI officer: does the central function own its budget, or bill the business units? (Observed: everything quoted above. Inferred: the reading in this paragraph.)

Phrase in the announcementWhat it means Opinion
this newly created roleNo incumbent and no inherited team. Year one is org design.
will report to Rami Baitiéh, Morrisons CEOAccess to the top. The announcement doesn't say whether budget comes with it.
take overall responsibility for Data and AI strategyData is in scope, not only AI. Watch where the data teams' reporting lines land.
building the team that will help the business make effective and responsible use of AIIn his own words, the first job is hiring.
05

Moves

6 appointments, all named: the company published each announcement (4 in its own newsroom, 2 as a press release).

  1. MetaAnnounced 28 Sep 2026Company newsroom

    Chirantan “CJ” Desai

    Chief Enterprise Platform Officer

    Reports toreporting directly to me

    The reporting line is written in the first person. Meta's post opens: “Meta founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg shared the following”.

    From the source: Meta Enterprise Platform will focus on turning its AI stack into products and services that companies can deploy for their own businesses · He joins us from MongoDB, where he was CEO and President

    Our readNot an adoption seat but a revenue one: the remit is turning Meta's AI stack into products for companies, and the hire ran MongoDB. For readers of this board, Meta just became a vendor to evaluate.

    Announcement ↗
  2. Universal Music GroupAnnounced 28 Sep 2026Press release

    Òscar Celma

    Senior Vice President, Applied AI and Machine Learning

    Reports toHannah Poferl, UMG's Chief Data Officer

    Announcement ↗
  3. ERGO Group AGAnnounced 25 Sep 2026Company newsroom

    Guy Goldstein

    Chief Artificial Intelligence Officer (CAIO)

    Reports toNot stated

    Newly created (stated): the newly created role

    From the source: on the Management Board of ERGO Group AG · in addition to his position as CEO of ERGO NEXT in the United States

    Our readA board seat, held alongside another job: the new CAIO joins the Management Board and stays CEO of ERGO NEXT in the US. AI gets a vote at the top table, but not a full-time owner.

    Announcement ↗
  4. PwC UKAnnounced 25 Sep 2026Press release

    Jeremy ‘Jez’ Bassinder

    Chief AI Officer

    Reports toNot stated

    From the source: help clients identify where AI can create value

    Our readA client-facing chief AI officer: the stated remit is helping clients find where AI creates value. Read the title as go-to-market, not as the owner of PwC's own AI.

    Announcement ↗
  5. MorrisonsAnnounced 24 Sep 2026Company newsroom

    Dr. Mohsen Ghasempour

    Chief AI Officer

    Reports toRami Baitiéh, Morrisons CEO

    Newly created (stated): this newly created role

    Announcement ↗
  6. ProsusAnnounced 22 Sep 2026Company newsroom

    Euro Beinat

    Chief AI Officer

    Reports toNot stated

    Announcement ↗
06

New roles

9 listings at 7 companies. Title, stated reporting line, scope and pay. 5 of 9 state a pay range. Each links to the board record and to the source.

  1. AlphaCreditBanking & lending
    Head of AI & Advanced Analytics - AlphaCredit (H/F/X)

    Reports toNot stated

    From the source: Lead, coach and develop a team of 4 Analytics & AI professionals · As a member of the Data Tribe leadership team

    Our readA head-of-AI title with the team size written in. Calibrate the title to the team, and ask every head-of-AI posting for that number.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)Not stated
    PostedNo date on page
    Source ↗
  2. New York Life Insurance CompanyInsurance
    Corporate Vice President - Head of Enterprise AI Platform

    Reports toNot stated

    From the source: Our team is intentionally small, senior, and highly technical · maintaining hands-on ownership of architecture, engineering, and agent development

    Our readA builder's seat with the team shape written in: small, senior and hands-on, building the platform and the first agentic solutions on it. Rare candour about size, at a stated $170,000–$265,000 base.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)$170,000–$265,000
    PostedNo date on page
    Source ↗
  3. AbbViePharma & life sciences
    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)Not stated
    Posted25 Sep
    Source ↗
  4. HumanaHealthcare
    Associate Vice President, Model & AI Governance

    Reports tothe Chief Audit & Risk Officer

    From the source: presenting complex risk, technology, analytics, and AI governance topics to executive leadership and Board-level audiences

    Our readAI governance as a control function: the line runs to the Chief Audit & Risk Officer, and the posting asks for Board-level presentation experience. Compare Simpson Thacher in issue 001, where it reports to the Chief Risk Officer.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)$189,400–$260,500
    Posted25 Sep
    Source ↗
  5. American Express
    Vice President, Responsible AI

    Reports toNot stated

    From the source: embedding responsible AI into the Enterprise AI Platform · ensure governance, risk, and compliance are built into the foundation of the platform

    Our readThe other governance model: build responsible AI into the platform itself. Compare Humana, where governance answers to audit and risk. The choice says whether governance is meant to speed AI up or check it.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)$176,750–$282,000
    Posted23 Sep
    Source ↗
  6. JPMorganChaseBanking & lending
    AI & Data Science Executive Director

    Reports toNot stated

    From the source: artificial-intelligence-native operating environment · which we intend to prove within our own organization before extending it more broadly

    Our readAI pointed inward: an AI and data science head inside HR, building an operating model the team means to prove at home first. The workforce is the first customer.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)Not stated
    Posted22 Sep
    Source ↗
  7. AstraZenecaPharma & life sciences
    Senior Director, AI Enterprise Process & Innovation Center

    Reports toNot stated

    Listing closed since capture (checked 2 Oct 2026)

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)$177,653–$266,479
    Posted21 Sep
    Source ↗
  8. AstraZenecaPharma & life sciences
    VP, Head of AI Enterprise Process and Innovation Centre (EPIC)

    Reporting line kept verbatim, including the stray space in “Digi tal” as printed in the listing.

    Reports tothe SVP Chief Digi tal, Data and AI Officer

    From the source: responsible for 4 critical pillars of AstraZeneca AI Strategy · sitting on the EAI Leadership Team as well as on HR Leadership Team

    Our readA portfolio, not a project: four named pillars of AstraZeneca's AI strategy, and seats on two leadership teams, one of them HR's. The highest stated pay this week, up to $468,000 base.

    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)$311,452–$468,000
    Posted17 Sep
    Source ↗
  9. JPMorganChaseWealth & asset management
    ScopeNot stated
    Pay (stated)Not stated
    Posted17 Sep
    Source ↗
07

What we're watching

Questions the next records could answer. Not predictions.

  1. Will another insurer copy ERGO and put AI on the management board as a second hat for an operating CEO?
  2. Will Morrisons, or the next retailer to name a chief AI officer, say who holds the budget for the new central function?
  3. Governance led this week's listings 3 to 2. Does it hold next week, or was this one noise?
08

Corrections and weakest records

No corrections this week.

1 of 9 listings captured 29 Sep was no longer live on 2 Oct.

Role-level moves resting on trade press only (0)

None this issue: every appointment is named from an announcement the company published.

Board only: announced before this issue's window (3)

This issue counts appointments announced from 20 Sep 2026, the day after issue 001's as-of date. These reached the board on 29 Sep 2026; they are on the board but not counted here.

Listings closed since capture, checked 2 Oct 2026 (1)

Records stay on the board with their saved capture; the source link may not load.

Subscribe

The weekly record of who companies hire to own enterprise AI.

One email a week, when email starts. Until then, you're on the list.

Subscribe to Enterprise AI Jobs

Not live yet. Sign-ups open when the list does; nothing typed here is sent.

We store the email you give us, plus company, role and the option you pick if you fill them in, to send the weekly email and to understand who reads it. It's held by our email provider, never sold or shared, and every email will carry an unsubscribe link. Privacy note